Can’t do that in Bosnia

Tuesday, October 9th, 2012

Uncertainty avoidance is how you measure the way people react to a change. In high uncertainty avoidance cultures people view change as dangerous. They hate it and are nervous about the future. Low uncertainty avoidance cultures are the opposite. They embrace change and are not really concerned with the future. Power distance is the level at which people accept hierarchical authority and how willing they are to submit themselves to it.  In high power distance cultures people do not question authority. in low power distance cultures people are more open and willing to question those who are in authority.

Bosnia was the country I chose for this class.  I did some research and found that Bosnia is a very high uncertainty avoidance culture. People in Bosnia and Herzegovina are very timid when it comes to change. They are not very fond of the future and who can blame them? After seeing what the people of that culture have seen and what they have experienced with the civil war and almost complete genocide, you cannot really argue as to why they are unsure of their future. Bosnia is also a very high power distance culture. Authority is respected beyond belief. People in this culture would not even think about questioning authority. It probably has to do with the fact that people are looking for people to look up to in this society after what I mentioned above.

If I were to go over to Bosnia on business I would definitely have to change some things. I would first learn what they do because I know that they do not like change. I would then do everything I could to adapt to their culture so they would not have to change any. I would not be as open for discussion because I know they would not really respond to it but I would nt turn down open air discussion. And finally, I would keep everything present tense, not trying to freak them out about the future.

Leave a Reply

